Lansing Public Library Board of Trustees Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 18, 2023

Call to Order:

President Novak called the regular board meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

Roll Call:

Present: Trustee Ball, Trustee Cuthbert, Trustee Glinski, Trustee Novak Absent: Trustte Arreola, Trustee Villa

Swearing In of New Trustees:

President Novak swore in the new trustees Steven Carr and Yvette Farmer.

Recognition of Visitors:

Also attending are Maureen Grady-Perovich, Cheryl Carr and Linda Genrich

M. Grady- Perovich wanted to thank the outgoing trustees for their service to the community and the library.

Discussion of the New Slate of Officers:

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to nominate Trustee Novak for President, and Trustee Farmer seconded. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Trustee Novak made a motion to nominate Trustee Cuthbert for Treasurer, and Trustee Carr seconded. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to nominate Trustee Ball as Secretary, and Trustee Carr seconded. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to nominate Trustee Villa, upon her approval for Vice-President, and Trustee Carr seconded. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Motion to Approve the FY 2023-2024 New Slate of Board Officers:

Trustee Cuthbert made the motion to approve the presented slate of board officers. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Correspondence:

None

Motion to Approve the Regular Minutes from the April 20, 2023 Board Meeting

Trustee Ball made the motion to approve the regular minutes from the April 20, 2023 Board meeting, and Trustee Cuthbert seconded the motion. Upon a voice vote the motion carried.

Motion to Approve the April 2023, and May 2023 for payroll, invoices, debit/credit and the Treasurer's report:

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to approve the bills for \$ 194,351.04 and \$8,392.64, and Trustee Carr seconded. Upon a roll call vote the motion passed.

AYES: Ball, Carr, Cuthbert, Farmer, Novak

NAYES: 0

Director's and Depart Head Reports:

The Director talked about the change in hours for some staff, and the banning of three students. There was also conversation concerning the banning of the homeless man for sexual misconduct and the final inspection for the electrical panels.

Old Business:

The Director has contracted with James Rachlin to help with the investment of some funds and some financial projections. His rate is \$275.00 per hour and he expects it to take between 13-15 hours.

New Business:

The Director is adding a new security camera and changing the direction of another one for a cost if \$2,563.96

The Director has contracted with IAC Industrial Appraisal Company to conduct an appraisal of the building and its contents for insurance purposes.

The library will have its annual carpet cleaning the Saturday before Labor Day. The library will close at 1:00 pm. The same company that was used last year was selected, and they quoted the same price of \$3,960.00.

Motion to Approve the Change to the Non-Resident Card Policy and to Change the Circulation table:

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to change the Non-Resident Card Policy to the new language and to change the Circulation Table, and Trustee Carr seconded. Upon a roll call vote the motion passed.

AYES: Ball, Carr, Cuthbert, Farmer, Novak

NAYES: 0

Motion to Approve the Tuition Reimbursement for Beth Bozzo to attend Valdosta State in the amount of \$ 1,650.00:

Trustee Carr made the motion to approve the tuition reimbursement for Beth Bozzo in the amount of \$1,650.00 for the first semester at Valdosta State for her MLIS, and Trustee Cuthbert seconded. Upon a roll call vote the motion passed.

AYES: Ball, Carr, Cuthbert, Farmer, Novak

NAYES: 0

Trustee Novak for discussion on any other topic, and the Director mentioned to the new trustees that she would contact them for their orientation meeting the first week of June.

Motion to Adjourn:

Trustee Cuthbert made a motion to adjourn and Trustee Farmer seconded. Upon a voice vote the motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 6:51 pm.

Submitted by: Lisa Korajczyk

Board President, Sharon Novak

Board Secretary, Lillian Ball